An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The human body is a complex structure full of its intricacies and nuances and ailments on the other hand too are extremely varied in form and how they effect the human body. Thus the suitability of a doctor to treat a particular patient is a very subjective matter, generally without a single correct answer. While, on the surface, providing ailing patients with the doctor's record of treating patients may seem beneficial in selecting the right doctor, the recommendation, in most cases, does not stand deeper scrutiny and falls flat.

There are a plethora of practical problems with implementation of the recommendation as well. It would require the ailing patient to understand nuanced medical terms and their implications in the records of the doctor to analysis the effectiveness of the doctor. This not a practical assumption as most people do not know in depth about medical sciences and would not be able to gain much insight, from an improper analysis of medical records, into the efficacy of the doctor.

In addition to the lack of understanding of medical terminology and situations, another implementation problem would be that of time. The understanding and scrutiny of medical records by the patient will not only require a lot of time but also a lot of effort from the patient. In most cases this is not possible as the patient needs to be acted upon at the earliest or may not have mental faculty needed to give enough though to make this decision after due deliberation. It could even cause adverse effect on the health of the patient in time wasted in the understanding of records or extra stress put on the patient.

It can be argued that the patient's family members get this access and right in cases where the patient is incapable to do the same, but this still requires time and does not guarantee that the family members will have enough knowledge to be able to judge the details of medical cases and understand which doctor did a better job. The recommendation fails to address its main concerns here and is far from advantageous.

One could be in favour of providing the family and the patient with blanket statistics about the doctors, which would help them get a decent idea and positive mindset. Though a positive mindset could help go a long way, these overall statistics could also cause a false sense of security as in many cases the doctor may be effective for a particular kind of disease but not for special complications that the patient may have. Thus extreme caution must be taken while referring to medical data while making choice of a doctor.

Thus it can be concluded that giving the patients access to medical records cases treated by a doctor is not only against the right to privacy of the doctor and their patients but also practically cumbersome. This step could also inadvertently cause more negative effects than helping patients.