Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The distribution and allocation of public funds for scientific research has been a matter of contention since the inception of government aided research. The recommendation is that the government should not fund research whose consequence is not clear. The recommendation is perilous in the fact that the consequence of actual ground breaking research is never clear, and even if the expected consequences are clarified, they may not perspire from the actual results of the research. Thus the government should fund research without clear consequences but should be wary of spurious research claims.

In most research projects, the researchers do not have any idea what the end product will look like. They just start off with an idea, that they wish to explore. Government should fund projects based on these ideas alone. For instance, the Manhattan project has been started and funded to study how radioactivity could give the Allied forces an upper hand in the world war too. It started off with nothing more than an idea to use radioactivity and without any clear projected consequences. Nevertheless, they ended up creating the atomic bomb, and delineating the impacts of nuclear warfare.

In addition to this, there are several cases in which the stipulated consequence of the research is not met but the results transpire an equally, if not more, resounding impact on the world, than the initially intended effect. The project of DARPA to develop inter continental ballistic missiles in response to Nazi's V12 missiles was not a success during world war 2 but was the bedrock on which the ensuing space program by NASA was based on.

On the other hand, even if projects started with a definite goal, they may not reach there and the given consequence may never be achieved. This can be best exemplified by the Concorde issue, which aimed at researching and developing a supersonic passenger carrier, which could drastically cut down flying time while having minimal effect on the comfort of the ride. While both the British and the French governments poured money into this project and it went of for years, the clearly mentioned goal and consequence of the project was never met, as the Concorde failed to meet passenger travel requirements and was disbanded after 8 years and a loss of millions of Pounds.

While it is important to fund abstract research, there are several cases where the government has been duped and lost a lot of taxpayer's money. It is true that most research fails and don't give intended results, there are several cases in which preliminary results have been purposely changed and the government been cheated of its money. Such is the case of a bio-tech startup which touted the ability to measure blood sugar by contact instead of skin penetration. The application of this was abound and the results seemed promising for the government to fund it. The end result was a felony charge on the 3 lead researchers and more than 7 million USD wasted.

Thus it can be concluded that though the government should be careful of the what research it funds, only funding research with a clear consequence will not only be harmful for the overall development and research industry but will also have major practical difficulties due to the enigmatic and arcane nature of science. This is mysterious and opportunistic nature of research best embodied in the words of Dr. Oppenheimer, "no research is done for its applicability, it is done because it can be done".