The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The given passage is recommending investment in unmanned space flight as they do not have the costs and the risks concomitant with sending men and women into space while it has been shown that these unmanned flights can glean a large amount of useful data. The author makes several assumptions while arguing for this recommendation and while it may seem that the argument is cogent, it falls flat on a more detailed scrutiny.

The author first says that the manned space flights have an associated cost and danger but fails to quantify these costs and dangers and thus not giving a very clear picture about the scenario of manned space missions. The author later states that unmanned flights do not have these costs and risks, further obscuring the point. There is no clarity about the cost comparision of manned and unmanned space missions and as the author says unmanned space flighst do not have these associated cost, does the author mean that unmanned space flights are free? The author has also failed to clearly elucidate the risks associated with manned flights that are absent in unmanned flights.

The author goes on to say that unmanned space probes have been a recent success and that they can collect a lot of information. The author fails to exemplify how successful these unmanned missions are and what is the significane of "great deal of useful information". The passage also mentions of unmanned probes and satellites while giving no indication about the nature of the manned space missions, thus a clear cut comparision cannot be drawn about effectiveness of manned and unmanned space missions as no standard metrics have been provided.

The passage has also failed in providing a clear picture of the tasks achieved by manned and unmanned space missions and if they can be used interchangably, The passage leaves to assumption that all that can be done and achieved by a manned space mission can be done by an unmanned one as well. It does not provide information about exclusive missions that specifically require one kind of missions.

It would greatly support the plausibility of the argument if that author can provide metrics and statistics with a clear comparision of the costs and risks associated with manned and unmanned missions and how these can be traded off with the results found. If the author could conclude from numeric results that for findings and information of the same order, unmanned flights were cheaper and less riskier by a considerable degree, with exception of exclusive missions, the argument would be heavily supported.

It can be concluded that the passage has made several assumptions that are not so obvious in making its conclusion. These assumptions severly weaken the argument posited leaving room for a lot misconstruing. To strengthen the argument, the author should at least address the more indirect assumptions before setting the conclusion in stone.