The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Government and authority in this world exist all in the spectrum from complete anarchy to completely authoritarian regimes. While it is true that neither of the extreme ends of the spectrum are viable for long term governance and conducive for the growth of a country, the question remains that where on the spectrum does the sweet spot lie. While there is no panacea for this everlasting question, there is definitely a trend. It can be said that more the citizens of a country can and do question authority the better is the well-being of the society.

The questioning of authority can be best shown by the fiction of media and news houses. It can be fairly said that the countries with great press freedom allow greater questioning of their authority, and the same has been shown by the correlation between degree of press freedom with governance parameters like Human Development Index (HDI). Another factor grossly overlooked is the consumption of this free press, that is, how many citizens actually make use of this free press to question the government. It has been shown by several reports that, within countries with similar freedom of press indexes, the governance factors like HDI were in strong correlation with media consumption numbers and percentage of the population that actively participated in or observed exercises or news decimation by the press.

Additionally, a society where it is the norm for people to question authority, there is severe check on the misuse of authority. This can be exemplified by the coal fill caving in incident at Jharia, in India. Major section of the world's biggest coal mine had caved in due to purposeful neglect of safety procedures and caused severe loss of life. The local authorities attempted a massive coverup and containment, to prevent major legal actions against the state run corporation responsible. However, the people of the area question this misuse of authority, quite literally and started a form of protest where all government offices would only receive request for proper redressal of the coal mine issue and in a matter of 10 days, more than 17000 letters and 8500 in person requests had been received and the matter gain national traction and was taken up for a proper probe.

While, it true that in most cases, greater questioning of authority allows for betterment of society, there are a few necessary limitations to this, and the biggest of them is national security and safety of the citizens. The state needs to keep this information secret to protect national interest and cannot adhere to public questioning about this at a deeper level. For instance, most countries have special rules for arrested terrorists that do not even give them the right to an attorney, while the public may want to question this authority, it is better, given the nature of the situation, to give the government the benefit of doubt.

Thus it can be concluded that a society with politically aware citizens who actively engage in dialogue and question the authorities, has more people centric policies and better governance. Though some qualifications are required on this questioning as in the case of national security, on the whole it is in the well-being of society for people to question the authority.