An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia – the scent of lavender flowers – has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Traditional remedy that lavender scent cures insomnia has been proven to be effective as per the given argument. But this is not concretely established and needs certain evidences to be evaluated for such solid establishment.

Firstly, the study was conducted over 30 volunteers, is this a trustworthy count to conclude effectiveness of a traditional remedy as a successful cure. There are millions of people suffering insomnia around the world. This study should have covered a variety of volunteers for such pervasive illness. There might be different reasons for different individuals to face insomnia, one might be suffering it due to anxiety and stress, while the other might have had it through hereditary line. A perfect evidence to answer these is not presented in the argument.

Additionally, it is said that all the people were given medication throughout the study. No evidence is quoted to oppose the idea that this medication has helped them cure insomnia. Most the volunteers might have missed their regular medication in their daily routine due to several causes, and a conditioned medicaation taken in this study might have helped the individuals get cured. But the author doesn't pose a single statement to prove this case to be wrong.

Moreover, author mentioned that there was a greater disturbance in the sleep cycles of the subjects during second week. There was no other information which states the reason behind this disturbance. It is also clearly said that the subjects faced a disturbance during their fisrt week of study which got worsened by the second week. There was no explanation that either lavender or the medication were the cause behind this. The conditions in which the study occured also plays a key role on the result. It is mentioned that the subjects were allowed to sleep in a controlled environment which is not available in their everyday life. A storng evidence must be presented to deny that the cure had not occured due to this controlled environment.

Finally, author concludes that lavender cures insomnia within a short period. But there is no clear insight that all the other medications take longer durations than three weeks to cure insomnia. If it were the case that other medications might take 4 to 5 weeks to cure this, then the controlled environment and regular medication might have an additional role in this study to make it seem that the cure occred at a faster pace.

This leaves us with a conclusion that the author has made an unsupported claim to cure insomnia using traditional remedy (lavender). But there were no clear proofs to state that lavener was the only reason for the cure occured in the study.