An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The author of the argument claims that lavender flower scent cures insomnia based on the study performed on the volunteers. However, he did not mention the other factors like the health conditions of the volunteers. He also fails to indicate the effect of medication in the result of the study. Also we have to know about the controlled environment to clearly decide the result of the study.

The argument says that 30 volunteers participated in the study. But he didn’t mention anything about their current health condition which may have effect on their sleep. This is a crucial point that we need to remember while analyzing the results of the study. Also the argument fails to state the daily routines of the volunteers. Did they follow their usual routine during the three week period of the study? Or were they provided with specific routines by the researchers? This is an important question that needs to be answered.

The argument also says that the volunteers took their usual sleeping medication on the first week and although they slept soundly, they woke up tired. And they discontinued the medication at the beginning of second week and felt even more tired after waking up. This indicates that medication may have some effects on their sleep. If they didn’t take medication in the first week, the result might have been different.

Another point we have to consider is that whether the volunteers took any medications in the third week. The argument doesn’t mention anything about medication in the third week, which we should know in order to analyze the study.

The argument comes into a decision that lavender cures insomnia in a short period of time. To come to this decision, we need more rigorous study. The study was performed in a controlled environment, which may not resemble the normal environment in which people sleep. To come to the decision the argument reaches, we have to perform the study for a longer time, where the controlled environment shouldn’t be present. Also, to claim that lavender scent cures insomnia we need to perform the study without lavender scented pillow. Otherwise the claim will be invalid.

Therefore, to say that lavender cures insomnia, we have to perform the study under various conditions for a longer period of time. We also need to know some other factors regarding the volunteers to reach into conclusion.