An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

According to the author, A traditional remedy seems to be doing a better job in curing Insomnia than the modern medication. S/He explains a recent study to prove the credibility of the statement and mentions about the results of the study. However, there are some unanswered questions before jumping into the claim made by the Author. I would like to elaborate them in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, what is the background information of the 30 volunteers that are being studied in this case. What are the levels of Insomnia faced by them? What is there history with this disease? What are there current medication levels? Perhaps, we may be just looking at a bunch of volunteers who are in their initial stages of Insomnia. If that is the case we can conclude that the traditional remedy can only be used during the initial stages of development of the disease.

Additionally, Author mentions that all the volunteers are wakened tired during each week and the levels of tiredness increased when they stopped taking their medication. Also he skips mentioning about this when he discusses the results of third week. Should we just assume about this? Why are the volunteers increasingly tired even when they sleep soundly? Is this some kind of a side effect of lavender on volunteers? We are not sure about this too. We can also predict that there might be harmful effects on the longer run as we have an indication in the early stages itself.

Lastly, I would also like to comment on the electronic equipment used to monitor the sleep of the patients. What is the procedure exactly that is carried out? How does this procedure exactly work? How accurate are the tools being used? If we do not know the credibility of the sleep monitor, then one cannot claim the results to be true. We also need to inspect on the factors that are considered to claim that a volunteer is sleeping soundly.

As it stands now, we can say that the Author's conclusion is flawed, It requires more research and should be able to answer the posed questions in order to effectively claim that his conclusion is true.