Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Arctic deer can live in very versatile environments. They balance between warm areas that vegetation grow in and icy bodies of water that enable the deer to migrate from island to island. The author’s argument regarding a decline in the amount of Arctic deer due to global warming is inadequate due to the underlying assumptions and generalizations made. While the brief statement that lack of sighted deer is due to global warming trends appears to be a robust idea, the deficit between what is stated and what there is evidence for is too large to be overlooked. This ultimately causes a weak argument that will count against the author’s conclusion.

The author explains that the supposed decline in deer population is according to local hunters. The author doesn’t state whether the decline of the deer population is over the past season, the past decade, or the past century. This is very important if the decline in population is going to be related to a global phenomenon. If there is a huge difference in the amount of Arctic deer between spring and winter, it may be because more deer are born in the spring. If the difference in the amount of deer is over the course of a few years, it may be due to a new predator in their environment. It is very important for the author to explicitly state over what course of time did the local hunters start seeing a difference in Arctic deer populations. If the author were to state over the past century, the argument of a decline in deer population due to global warming would be strengthened.

Correlation does not prove causation. While the decline of deer may correlate with global warming, there needs to be more proof in order for global warming to deemed the cause of death of deer. The author needs to provide facts that proof that global warming causes the ice to not form over large bodies of seas. Perhaps global warming does not cause the ice to melt, and a different outside factor could cause portions of the water to stay in liquid form. The author needs to provide more proof and facts that global warming is the cause of the lack of ice in the sea in order for the argument to be strengthened. Furthermore, then the author would need to state that the lack of ice results in Arctic deer death.

Although the Arctic deer have a habit of traveling over ice platforms to get to different islands to search for food, it is assumed that it is vital for their survival. However, that may not be the case as deer can adapt and survive over time. The author never states whether migration is vital for the survival of Arctic deer. Due to adaptation, Arctic deer may no longer need to migrate over dangerous icy waters in order to travel for food. The author needs to indicate whether or not migration of Arctic deer is a necessity for their survival in order to strengthen the argument that their decline is due to their inability to travel now that bodies of water no longer turn icy.

Global warming can be the cause of the decline in Arctic deer over the past century due to fossil fuels warming the sea temperatures. It would result in causing ice to not form endangering the Arctic deer from their migration patterns. However, because of generalizations the author’s argument lacks compelling and affluent reasoning to convince other’s that global warming is the cause of the decline of the Arctic deer population.