As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many people argue that people have become too dependent on technology. People rely on cars to get to different places, and they rely on spell check in order to make sure their papers are grammatically correct. Some claim that due to the technological dependency that is on the rise, people’s minds will deteriorate. However, if can be argued that while laziness will increase with technological reliability, the human mind will still stay intact.

With growing technology, more people will become lazy. This statement however doesn’t indicate that people will lose their mental capabilities. For example, now that there is the development of a GPS, many people do not know how to use maps and read directions from a map. People solely rely on a GPS in order to get places. However, that doesn’t mean that people aren’t capable of learning how to use a map. They are still mentally capable. They just don’t know how to and they don’t need to because they have a GPS. People still have all the same brain power to learn, just the convenience of a GPS has allowed them to focus their attention on other things. Through the convenience of technology, people will get lazy, but ultimately their brain power will still remain the same.

Furthermore, some people would claim that laziness will result in using the brain less, which would ultimately lead to detonation of the mind. While that may be a concern, human happiness depends on productivity. In many different psychological studies, people who are a productive member of society are typically happier and have less mental illnesses than those that don’t produce within a society. The laziness that is developed due to technology will shift people’s focus to different problems of the world. For example, now that people have to spend less time figuring out maps and how to get to places more quickly, they can spend that extra time they now have focusing on something more important. By using technology convienently, the brain will still be pushed more than ever. People won’t have to learn the trivial things that technology can take care of, and can now focus on producing more advanced systems. So the concern of people becoming too lazy that their minds deteriorate shouldn’t be a huge concern, as people always want to move forward and better themselves.

The invention of technology was intended to increase productivity, rather than to allow people to not think. People will always work on becoming better and smarter, and the use of technology just allows more time in the day for people to spend on less trivial things. Whether it is using a car to get somewhere that is faster than walking, a GPS to navigate rather than a map, or a stove to cook rather than making our own fire, technology is there to make people think more about the important things and spend less time on the small irrelevant aspects of life.