Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Clearly, the argument has many ambiguous factors that need to be mentioned precisely. During gathering information in research, we should clearly identify the place where data has been collected. Moreover, the population of the sample and the specific attributes of the members of the population should be declared exactly.

In this argument, it is vague that in which hospitals the information has been collected, and to which city these hospitals belong? In fact, every city has its own rules for driving that are different in their strictness. Maybe these driving rules are not strict enough or have some deficiencies, which makes them be the cause of most of the accidents for roller-skating. It is also not discussed what kinds of accidents they are. Did other drivers cause accidents or these accidents resulted from the collision with some obstacles? Moreover, different hospitals serve different parts of the city. Some hospitals are located downtown where is, perhaps, the most crowded part of the city having many accidents. Thus the location of the research must be clear, according to which we can understand and evaluate the situation of the place.

Having only talked about 75 percent of the people who had roller-skating accidents, the author did not explain the accidents of the remaining 25 percent. Since they wore protective equipment, it should be described their health condition after their accidents in order to see to what extent equipment prevents them from being injured. Perhaps, the health condition of some of those who wore equipment is worse; therefore, we can conclude that wearing protective clothing would not help much.

The author mentions light-reflective material which can protect those skaters in the dark. But it should be clarified what percentage of those accidents happened in dark places or at night. Maybe a few numbers of those accidents occur in dark places.

Although it may be obvious that applying high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment may reduce the rate of roller-skating accidents, the statistical information should be registered precisely so that we can understand to what extent it worth to invest money in these materials. Moreover, we can get to know how well protective equipment protects us from being injured.