Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Author stated that problems lies with the public's lack of awareness about the movies rather than the quality of super screen movies, therefore, by providing greater share of budget for advertising in next year would solve the problem. Although, author provided reasons for his conclusions they are based on assumptions which cannot be considered until and unless they are proved to be right.

Firstly, Author stated that fewer people attended super screen produced movies when compared to last year even after the percentage of positive review increased. Even though percentage of positive reviews increased we are not sure whether the number of movies produced actually increased or decreased when compared to last year. For example, if number of movies produced by super screen where very less and had a positive review when compared to last year. In this scenario, as there were less number of movies the count of people who usually watch super screen movies would eventually be less. Proving this scenario true, will undermines the authors view.

Second, lets consider that number of movies and positive reviews both increased significantly from last year. But what about the preference of the audience? Preferences and taste of people change day to day, hence even after producing good quality movies in numerous amount which will not match the present preference of people will lead to loss. It is equally important to know the preference and trend of present time. Therefore, even proving this right will make authors assumptions weaken.

Third, now lets consider that the preference of people did not change over time. What if number of production houses increased over an year and even they started producing a good quality movies which match the preference of the people? Consequently people interested in watching movies will be divided into number of movies released by different production houses. Eventually, the count who attended for super screen produced movie will be reduced. Therefore, proving this right will surely weakens the authors conclusion .

Finally, authors conclusion is based on fallacious assumptions. Therefore it is no way a cogent assertion that increasing the budget for advertising would help in resolving the problem. Hence, to bolster his position author needs to provide germane evidences to the above mentioned flaws.