The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Argument provided by the author makes fallacious conclusion based on assumptions rather than pragmatic approach. Author states that restoring the time devoted for weather and local news to its former level would eventually attract viewers to the program and they will gain their former level. Having said, the reasons provided by the author to support his/ her conclusion have no clear proof.

Firstly, author mentioned that, during this period most of the complaints recieved from the viewers about the weather and local news. But, their is no clear evidence to proof that the complaints are regarding the time constrain. What if the complaints are about the content of the local news? Might be the local news which is telecasted now contains voilent content which should not be telecasted in television? What if the weather report telecasted is incorrect or inappropriate? Proving these true, will drastically undermies author's view of restoring the time for waether and local news will help them to get back their former level of viewers.

Second, it is also stated by author that advertising companies have cancelled their contracts with them which the author feels one of the effects of time change for weather and local news. As this evaluation happened over a year many changes can effect this. For example, number of late-night news programs might have increased over the year or new television station might be established. Now advertising companies have numerous options to go for, also, other television programs might be charging them less when compared to this television station. Now, irrespective of the change in late-nigth news program, advertising companies will opt for the other television stations who quote for the lesser price. Hence, this scenario will weaken the author's view and conclusion.

Thirdly, even if the content of the news is appropriate and no new television stations are established, what if the preference of the viewers changed? Over the past year many changes could have happened, lifestyle, taste and preference would have changed significantly. Now after having a long tired day people might prefer to watch entertaiment shows at night rather than news program. Now if this is true, author's conclusion will not have positive effect on the present condition on the program telecasted.

Finally, the argument provided by author and reasong through which he supported it are merely assumptions. Therefore, it is no were a cogent assertion that restoring the time will rise the situation to the former level. Hence, to bolster his position author needs to do research and provided statistically evidences to appose the above mentioned points. Only then author's view would be plausible for the readers.