The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Better society can be formed by moulding the younger generation at their best. This can be done instilling good features into them. Statement provided by the author says that one need to instil sense of cooperation not competition into young people. I agree with the author partially , that is with the first statement which says to instil cooperation into younger people. On other hand I feel competition should also be insisted into young people for bright career.

As said, it is important to teach cooperation to the young people for leadership in any field. This quality can help them to acquire more knowledge and also to help people around them for their growth. In result, which helps in developing a better society. For Example, In a software company it is very important to communicate with each other, share ideas and spread knowledge, which can only happen if the individual have the sense of cooperation. Irrespective of fields this will surely help every individual to develop in their career.

Apart from cooperation, competition in one feature which can improve ones ability to think and do. Having a healthy competition in any field will result into a happy output. For instance, Students preparing for examinations or attending any sports event should be competitive enough to compete with their opponents. This competitive spirit can happen only if we teach young people the sense of competition. Having a competitive spirit will allow them to think in an enormous ways and will result in giving a best out of them. There are many innovations happening everyday such as, automobiles, having competitive sense in the people is actually allowing the different automobile companies to think innovative and come out with variety of features and innovate new versions of automobiles which can make our life more easy to live. Nevertheless, I understand why author stated not to instil this quality into young people. Because having competitive spirit can sometimes lead the young people to achieve their goals in evasive manner, which instead of helping in creating better society will lead to worsen the situation. Therefore, having a good competitive spirit can bring out the best out of any individual if implemented in a proper way.

Finally, author stated the important feature which needs to be instilled into young people which I'm completely happy with. As explained competition should be coming hand in hand with cooperation to get the best results from the young people. Having both can make the individual strong enough to be a leader in any field and grow in their career. Consequently we will have a better society which we are looking for.