Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of a production company, recommended allocation of greater budgetary share to reaching public through advertising, based on the conclusion that problem lies with lack of public awareness about quality cinema, rather than the quality of the cinema. In order to reach this conclusion, the advertising director used the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers as a evidence for the quality of the cinema. However the director makes several major assumptions which need to be analysed before reaching a decision.

Firstly, the major question that needs to be answered is, whether the reviews of movie reviewers a true reflection of the public perspective. It could be that reviewers might rate an artistic movie very high but commonnmovie goers might find the movie boring. Since the production company wants to increase its potential movie watchers, it should inquire the reviews of the movie from the general public. In order to find that they should conduct a survey of the movie goers regarding their opinions on the movie, and find if they find the contents interesting, and if not what are they looking for. If however, the public rated the movie highly, then we should assess other reasons for the fall in viewership.

Secondly, while the author states that the movie goers have fallen, no evidence is provided as to why the said phenomenon occured. A comprehensive analysis is needed to find the reasons for the said fall in the viewership. If the viewership fall is owing to recession, then the appropriate remedy would be to lower the fare, and similar remedy would work in case viwership has fallen because of rising ticket prices. A survey of the mmovie goers and those not continuing could help identify the causes of the said decrease and take appropriate action

Finally, the author states that allocation of higher budget would to reaching public through advertisements need not be the solution. We need to find whether advertising is an effective way to attract audience or not? This could be accomplished by a survey of the existing movie goers, to find out why did they get interested in the first place. It could be that it is because of the cast of the movie, or because of the trailers of the movie which they found amusing. Asking such question would help us ascertain whether advertising would infact be useful.

Even though author has a good suggestion, more evidence is necessary in order to decide that this is infact the way to go. The author needs to provide more evidence regarding the fall of viewership, and the reasons for the same. And also there is a need to evaluate if advertising is infact a useful tool to remedy the situation.