"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The author concludes that we should invest only in unmanned project instead of manned space flight. And the author uses as evidence the fact that manned projects are costly and risky, and cites the recent success of unmanned projects. However, the author makes several major assumptions, which need to be reviewed before the decisionmaker can reach a conclusion.

Firstly, he author assumes that the cost of manned space flight is higher than unmanned, this assumption could however be faulty as even unmanned equipments such as telescopes require repairs and maintenance which are often accomplished by sending people to space. And since unmanned operations do not have any human guidance, the cost of designing them to ensure proper performance and sending the desired information back could be very high. Unmanned projects would necessitate a lot of checks to ensure the information collected is relayed back, because these projects cost billions.

Furthermore, the author states the recent sucesses of unmanned probes to show that these are better than manned programmes and uses them to support his claim, but such argument necessitates the comparison of information provided by manned and unmanned programmes, and then compare the cost and risks. It could be that the contribution of manned programmes could far exceeded the potential benefits from unmanned projects, and a cost benefit analysis results in manned project being better.

Finally, another assumption this argument relies on is that the risk of unmanned space flight is lower than space flight but such argument could be wrong, invalidating the emphasis on unmanned space flight. It is a ppoular opinion amongst several scientist that human presence on such mission could help minimise the chances of errors, owing to effective immediate solution of any problem rather than waiting for external aid to arrive in case of unmanned projects. Another point is that in case of such missions going wrong a human presence can minimise damages to life. to understand this lets take an example. A spacecraft is entering earths atmosphere after returning from a programme it could be that some problems occurs as it is entering the atmosphere, human presence on said mission could prevent the aircraft say from landing on USA and ensure its landing far away from human habitation.

The author here makes a good point, we do not have enough evidence to conclude that this is the best way to go. i.e. While it cannot be denied that human life is important, there should be a balance between both these type of flights, as both have their own advantages and disadvantages and a holistic cost-benefit analysis is required as human life is pretty important and such risk should necessitate commensurate benefits.