"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The statement points out that most of of the complaints have been about less time being devoted to local and weather news and also point out that local businesses that used to advertsie during said programme have canceled their contracts and attempts to establish this as a cause and effect. one important point to note in making any such judegements is that correlation does not imply causation, we require further evidence to ensure tha these two are infact related and that thee relation is not spurious , which calls fro more evidence.

The memorandum states that most of the complaints owing to the change in structure of the programme have been regarding the lack of local and weather news. But, it lacks any evidence about whether total complaints have gone up or the total no. of complaints have gone down. Such a figure would be a better proxy for customer dissatisfaction, rather than stating the proportionate size of the specific complaints. It could be that viewership might have gone up as more people prefer watching important national news, rather than unconsequential local news. The argument lacks any data about the trends in viewership, which could help us deduce the actual impact of the programme. A survey of customers preferences could also help us establish their preference and adjust their news accordingly.

Another important aspect while commenting on such trends in viewership of television is that in general television viewership has been going down owing to the rise of internet and smartphones, which could be the reason that local news rescinded their contract, as they do prefer investing more in advertising online. The memorandum lacks any evidence as to why local businesses have withdrawn. A survey of the said businesses could point out whether they have shifted to some other platform, in whch case switching the content from national news would be insignificant. But if this survey indicates their displeasure on removal of local news and it is further established that local news does attract more customers, the tv channel should focus more on local and weather news.

It could also be that customers have shifted to a new news channel and so have the advertisers. in such case the news channel needs to assess why it is loosing its customers base. In any case a comprehensive analysis of the needs of the customer needs to be made.

So, in all this passage memorandum should attach more evidence indicating customer displeasure and fall in customer viewership owing to lack of local news, and further also establish this as a reason for local businesses cancelling their contracts.