Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improv

While Galore Stores ought to do some changes in order to reduce the decline in profit, this author's argument does not make much cogent case for other stores on the basis of provided information. It is easy to understand why Galore Stores want to restrain their decline profits, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to implement such changes in other stores.

Citing authors report, the author reports recently declining profits in stores. While this may be true but the scope and validity of the statement are obscure. For example, the decline in profit may be in some thousands or it may be in millions and time for recent is not justified. Author has claimed that Store's operating expenses should be reduced, But the scope of the expenses is not clearly stated. The claim of being famous is also not justifiable based on the given scope of the argument. The claim of being preeminent is made by the author, and any affirmative evidence is not provided. Unless the state of being famous is fully explored, valid and reliable, it cannot be used for bolstering the authors' argument.

Additionally, The author implies that last month reducing expenses significantly by the closing store before 3 important working hours. The relation between the decrease in working hours in order to reduce expenses and profits is not effectively made. Reducing hours may not lead to an increase in profits or do not overcome the problem of declining profits. It seems first, Plausible that reducing expense cost may achieve desirable results, But it also impairs the selling. For instance, Time in between 6 to 9 is peak hours for people to buy from the stores. By closing the store in the peak hours may jeopardize the situation by reducing sell. For strengthening the argument the author must provide some justification for that hours during which store was closed.

And Finally, Authors argument, Reducing the stock of old movies may befit for producing revenue is seriously undermines the actual argument of reversing the decline in profits. As there are people who enjoy watching old movies(here old movies refers to released before 5 years) and not having stock of that movies means definitely reduce in sell. There are significant number of stock of old movies and eliminating the stocks means exactly what to do with that stock is the question which should be handled with prudent manner. Author does not have shown any effective strategy to reduce the decline in profit rather, By eliminating stocks sells may be reduced.

A good, prudent and painstaking strategy should be adopted to deal in a such a worse situation.To increase the profit and deal with such a situation one should be incisive to make sage decisions. But presented authors decisions are seriously flawed and should be reconsidered before implementing any of them.