Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improv

While it may be true that Video rental store at downtown significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6.00 pm rather than 9.00 pm and reducing the stock by eliminating all movies released more than 5 years ago. This author argument doesn't make cogent case for the increase in the profit of that video store because of the above change. In some sense it can inferred but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions.

Primarily the video store at downtown is not same as the other video stores situated at different location. For example people's mindset who comes to downtown store might differ from the people who visits the store in rural area. Author has mentioned that they reduced the operating cost by eliminating the movies which were released 5 years ago. It can be the case that downtown people are disinclined towards older movies and they like to watch the latest movies , or they want the genre of Action, while the rural people may like the old movies, Comedy centric movies. In this case if older movies re eliminated then people would not visit the store which indeed leads to decline in profit.

Additionally, author states that they have decreased the operational expenses by closing at 6.00 pm instead of 9.00 pm. It can very well happen that very less people used to visit the store after 6 pm at the downtown, therefore it has reduced the operational expense. However, if in another store

many people visit the store after 6.00 pm, then closing the store by 6pm might impact significantly to the profit of the Video store. So, the author should do survey in all the store and get the information during which time the people often visit store. Timings might differ from one store to another,

based on survey of each store, decision can be made when the particular video store can be closed.

Building upon the many unwarranted information, author suggest that by following the above changes the downtown store has increased the profit by reducing the operating expenses. But there is no evidence that cause of this change only the video store has increased the profit. For example, it can very well happen that many people would have been visited the store due to release of a new movie where everyone were eagerly waiting to watch it. Author should be substantiating his argument that store had made more profit by more evidence.

Examining all the various angles and factore involved in increasing the store profit, argument lacks many evidence to support its argument.The author should provide more information regarding how the downtown store made profit and how the same implication holds good for all other