"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

Author is arguing that due to decrease in program time of weather and local news topic over the past one year, viewers have complained about it and also local business that used to advertise during this late-night news program have canceled their advertisement contract. Even though author's argument is plausible, it has flawed for numerous reasons and lack of evidence to support his argument.

The argument fails to provide information about how much time they reduced in showing weather and local news. Author has vaguely mentioned has less time, but haven't given any information about how much less time. It might be that one year before they were showing the weather and local news for 30 min out of 60 min show and now it might be reduced to 25 min, which is not so significant reduction in time.

Secondly, let’s assume argument had provided information about how much time they actually reduced and it’s a significant amount time. Author argues that they have received most of the complaints from the viewers for the shortage coverage of weather and local news. However, he hasn't considered the fact that many viewers might actually like the new coverage timing but they conveyed to the television station. For example, let’s assume around 1 million viewers watch this night show, and out of which 1 thousand people complaints saying they need more coverage of weather and local news. It can be seen that 99% of viewers are actually happy with the new coverage timing. So author should provide the information regarding how much percentage among the viewers has issue regarding this change.

Finally, argument claims due to change is coverage time and lesser viewers local business that used to advertise during this show has cancelled their advertising contract but never gave the evidence that canceling of advertising contract is due to this change. They might have canceled the contract for numerous other reasons, for example they might got a better deal with some other television station or they are shutting down their advertising business for their own reason. This argument could have been strengthened by discussing with the advertising business and knowing the actual reason behind the cancelling the contract.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to convey the case that television station needs to devote more time in weather and local news in order to attract more viewers and to increase the advertisement revenue.