Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

Even though corporate main responsibility is to make as much as money they can , provided they operate within the law, their other responsibility involves promoting the well being of the societies and environment in which they operate.

Yes, I agree that, Corporate's main aim is to make the profit as much as they can cause that is one of the main reason many people establish their own company. If a corporate is working in a situation where it is not able to generate the revenue then it becomes difficult for the existence of it only.

However, corporate as other responsibilities other than just making money. They should look after the well beings of the employees who work for them. As the employees struggles a lot for building the corporate they work for and also they devote majority of their time in the corporate.So it is one of the responsibilities of corporate to make sure their employees are in healthy condition and can offer free medical check up for them, provide perks like holiday trip for them and their family , sponsored by corporate ,encourage them to play sports which will make them fit .

It is not just taking care of their employees, but also they should make the environment better in which they operate. As they use their surrounding environment for the well being of corporate they should give back to the society. Recently the tech giant company infosys contributed a financially to build a Hospital in a near by village , where they have one of their branch. And moreover now a days many corporate are following the culture to give back to society by doing voluntary work in the surrounding places where the corporate builds are. Like cleaning drive in the near by beach, planting the trees as a part of environmental day, providing the food for the homeless people.

i agree with former part of the claim, that Corporate is responsible to promote the well being of the societies and environment in which they operate. Which indeed induce the responsibility in the common people to promote better environment around them.