In an attempt to improve highway safety Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways But this effort has failed the number of accidents has not decreased and based on reports by the highway patro

The argument seems intriguing at first, but on deep analysis I found it to be ambiguous and presented with many flaws. The claims in the argument are based on assumptions with evidence, in some cases evidences are provided but they are not appropriate to the context of the situation. The argument is flawed due to numerous reasons. Firstly, the argument says that “Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways” assuming that lowering the speed limit would bring down the accidents on highways. This can be stated as “Assumed cause and effect” where the authorities are assuming that by bringing down the speed limits would reduce the accidents. What if a majority of accidents are happening not due to over speeding? Maybe accident in Prunty County are happening due to poor construction of roads or absence of traffic signals at important junctions. If these are the causes of accident, then reducing the speed limit from 55 to 45 mph would bring no change or only infinitesimal change (if any) in the accident rate in Prunty County. If the evidence regarding cause of accidents would have been provided, the authorities could have taken proactive measures to combat the accidents.

Secondly, the argument takes the reference of Butler County that took a road improvement project five years ago and concludes that “25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago”. However, the cause for this drop of accidents in Butler County cannot be assumed to be because of the road improvement project as there is no evidence provided for the same. It is important to think that what brought the accident rate down in Butler County? Maybe people have started becoming more careful while driving or maybe it is a pandemic year where very few vehicles are on the highway. If less vehicles are on the highways, the accidents reported will be surely less. So it cannot be concluded that the reduction of accidents in Butler County is due to the road improvement project.

Consequently, if Butler County is not assured of having success with the road improvement project, a detailed analysis of the cause and effect of the project has to be analyzed. Even if, due to the project, accident rate came down in Butler County, it cannot be concluded the same for Prunty County as these two are different. What was successful for them may not be successful for us.

All in all, this argument seems to be vague with claims based on assumptions and no evidence to back up. The exorbitant amount of assumptions and conclusions based on those assumptions makes the argument poorly written.