Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

College admissions are a big task. One has to gather lot of information about a college before taking admission like its rankings, teacher to student ratio, infrastructure, placements, location and so on. While these are secondary things to ponder over, a student must select a field of study based on the availability of jobs. That is, a student must select the field that has greatest job opportunities currently and is expected to have the same in the future. For example, doctors these days are in a huge demand due to the worldwide pandemic that we are going through. There is an acute shortage of doctors and medical staff. Hence, if a student wishes to pursue medical, there is a huge opportunity for him/her presently and I am sure that five to six years down the line, this trend will continue.

The “job opportunity and availability” should be the parameter of utmost important for a student while selecting field because after completing his/her studies the student will have to serve in the industry. It will be difficult for the student to survive in an industry that has low job availability as more and more people will be eyeing the position that he/she is eyeing. So the chance of getting selected comes down and so does the motivation of the student. A student should always look for lucrative career and to ensure that he/she has to select the field that is popular and in-demand currently.

However, some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests while choosing a field of study. I disagree with this claim as “talents and interests” cannot be a parameter for selecting field of study. People can argue that based on the student’s talents and interests whichever field he chooses will be the best one as he will be able to show his A game in that field only. But in these days, just having interest in a field does not guarantee that he/she will be successful in that field. Whereas interest can also be developed in a field chosen based on job availability. An increased job opportunity will motivate the student to work hard and perform his best. On the contrary, if he/she chooses a field based on his interests and suppose that field has low job availability and less job opportunities, then despite having the talent and interest the student may not perform well in tension, stress and anxiety.

All in all, one needs to see all parameters before choosing the field of study and decide based on which parameter he/she thinks to be of utmost importance. If he/she thinks job availability as an important parameter then he/she may choose a field of study that has high job availability and opportunity. Otherwise, he/she can always choose a field of study based on personal interests and talent.