Teachers salaries should be based on their students academic performance Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most compelling r

Teachers’ salary can be considered as a token of appreciation of the hard work done by him/her for the entire academic year. This “hard work” includes teaching of course, but along with teaching it includes helping students, guiding students, making test papers for them so that they face the final exam situation with ease, giving them marks based on their performance so that they get a real-time analysis of their performance in exams and many much more. A teacher constantly thinks as to how he/she can improve his/her teaching ability or skills to enhance the performance of his/her students. In the real word, there are broadly two types of teacher’s viz. good teachers and bad teachers. Good teachers are those who perform all the duties/responsibilities mentioned above and a bad teacher is a one who does not perform more than one of these duties properly. So the claim that “Teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance” cannot be considered as a universal truth. The terms “good” and “bad” are rather subjective terms so a teacher can be classified as a good or bad based on his/her past result. If suppose a majority of his/her students pass with more than 80% marks then he/she can be classified as a good teacher otherwise he/she is a bad teacher.

Owing to the fact that good teachers perform all their duties judiciously and their students pass the subject with more than 80%, there must be no compromise in giving salary to such teachers. The job of a teacher is a thankless job; they don’t expect students to thank them after getting good results and to some extent that is the truth. After getting the results, very few students talk to their teachers and thank them for the efforts put in by him/her which got him good marks. Instead, students ask their classmates about their marks and start comparing and gossiping about other students’ marks.

However, there are bad teachers in the market as well. Bad in the sense of bad results and not bad behavior. These teachers do not perform their duties well which leads to students getting poor grades. The students cannot be blamed for poor grades as no student would want a C grade on his/her transcript. It is teacher who didn’t teach well which cost them their marks in that subject. For these “bad” teachers, salaries should be given in proportion to the results of the students. If for more than one year this situation is happening, then the institution may have to take some strict actions against the teacher in question. Just taking cognizance of the matter won’t solve the purpose until some action is taken against him/her. If he/she is just let off giving a warning, it would be of no use as he/she would think he/she can do the same and escape off by receiving a warning.

Moreover, there are some circumstances where even “good” teachers’ students get bad results. In that case, the institute’s role comes into play. The institute must know the reason behind it. Maybe it is a pandemic year, where the education imparted to students via online mode was not a great success which led to a downfall in their grades. In such circumstances, the teachers fault is just infinitesimal and it’s just the conditions weren’t favorable to impart education. In my opinion, the salaries of such teachers under the given circumstances (given above is just an example) should not be cut as it was not their fault.

All in all, the claim can be regarded as partially correct. If the teacher is performing all the duties then he/she must be paid otherwise the institute needs to take some action against teachers whose results are not coming up to the mark. But if teachers having a good past record fail to deliver under some circumstances, they should be given the benefit of doubt without deducting their salaries.