The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper Commuters complain that increased rush hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time The favored proposal of the motorists lobby is to w

The argument provided aims at the better of the current situation of rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway. However, the recommendations given in the argument seem to be vague as there is little or no evidence behind floating those recommendations. Had there been evidences provided, the argument would have been much better and the recommendations could have been considered for implementation. So, the argument is a flawed one due to the following reasons:

Firstly, the argument says that the motorists’ lobby proposes to widen the highway by adding an extra lane of traffic. Now, this doesn’t necessarily ease out the current rush-hour condition on Blue Highway. What if the additional lane augmented is used by the Government for some construction like a metro construction or a connector construction? This would lead to even more congestion on the Blue Highway. Another question arises is what if the additional lane is made as a walk-away off the highway for pedestrians. Now these were some of the crucial questions that should have been thought by the motorists’ lobby before proposing such ideas.

Secondly, the argument states “last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it”. This cannot be considered to be true for Blue Highway just because it happened on some other Highway called Green Highway. There is no evidence about the Green Highway, how many lanes it has, are all vehicles permitted on the highway, how is the road condition of the Green Highway? All these questions need to be answered before concluding that Green Highway is similar to Blue Highway. Just like apples aren’t oranges, Blue Highway cannot be equated to Green Highway.

Thirdly, the suggestion of adding a bicycle lane on the Blue Highway is proposed and it is said that “Many area residents are keen bicyclists”. But one question needs to be answered here, do these “keen” bicyclists even use the Blue Highway? If the answer is NO then what will be the use of making a bicycle lane for those “keen” bicyclists? If there are almost no or very less percentage of bicycles on the Blue Highway, then making the bicycle lane will not improve the rush-hour situation by much.

Fourthly, the argument states “A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic.” A very important question arises that how many of the people know to ride a bicycle? Also if they know how to, what is the daily distance that they travel from their residence to place of work that they can use a bicycle instead of a four-wheeler? If the distance is too much, one cannot travel on bicycle.

To sum up, the argument is based on many assumptions. Almost every proposal to reduce the rush-hour traffic is based on assumptions. There are no evidences and crucial questions need to be answered before implementing those proposals. Hence, this argument can be classified as a vague and poorly written.