In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that lowering speed limit on Prunty highways will not decrease car accidents; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent case. It is easy to understand that increasing lane widths and improving road condition will reduce accident numbers, but the arguer needs verifiable evidences to prove this recommendation.

First of all, the author mentions that lowered speed limit on all Prunty County to decrease the number of accidents has failed. However, the arguer does not mention about other factors that can affect the number of accidents on highways. There is possibility that police monitoring for speed limit has not been done very well in Pruntly County. In addition, the author does not talk about roads condition or weather condition in Prunty County which is important factor to pay attention to. To strength his/her suggestion the author needs to investigate about all possible reasons that can cause car accidents.

Additionally, the arguer assumes that same road improvement project that has been done in Bulter County is going to give the same result for decreasing the number of accidents on Prunty highways. This comparison is not logical because definitely there are many differences between two Prunty and Butler counties highways. For example, road condition, weather condition, traffic jam, number of lanes, and police force. Thus, the author needs to consider highway differences on two Counties.

Last but not least, the arguer indicates that Percentage of reported accidents on Butler County highways were decreased by 25 percent, but the author does not give any statistic information about traffic jam on Butler County. It is not logical to just look at percentage without considering other factors. It is possible that Butler highways are not crowded like five years ago which can be reason for declined accident numbers for last year.

The arguer can make this suggestion persuasive when he/she gathers information about similarities and differences between Prunty and Butler highways and other factors that can affect accident numbers. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.