“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

While it is advisable for every country to be wary of intruders, the authors implications from the restraining illegal immigrant to a country being autonomous is very vague.The argument is not cogent enough to believe that making efforts to send back illegal immigrants can make that particular country autonomous. This particular conclusion is being made on number of unsubstantiated assumptions the author made.

Firstly, country being autonomous has many factors, as in, the potential imports and exports , living standards of people, ability of government to stabilise and improve the economy and many others. This has nothing to do with strength of its borders.The possible interpretations of strength of borders could be, power of the army,border patrol strength and the technological advancements like cc cameras and intruder detection algorithms used by the country. None of these have a direct relation to the autonomous nature of the country as well. The author could benefit from being more specific about, the strength of borders and its direct or indirect relation to autonomous nature of country. Author could even strengthen this, by giving an example where the country is autonomous due to its borders strength.

In addition, author is making a direct correlation between preventing the illegal immigrants from entering the country and it’s economy and identity. The author is making the same mistake as pointed out in above paragraph. The economy depends on numerous factors such as, imports and exports, natural and human resources, social organisation, political freedom and many more. National identity depends on the deed the country carries out, the kind of ethics they follow , the way they project themselves – take the case of Bhutan, it projects itself as a carbon negative country and it measures the national GDP in terms of the happiness of their citizens. Author could benefit from ,linking the illegal immigrants to national identity and economy with more evidence as in, giving some direct negative effects of allowing illegal immigrants on economy or positive effects of checking illegal immigrants on national identity.

Building upon the implication, that the illegal immigrants pose threat to the national identity and economy, author makes another statement as, to send back the illegal immigrants to their own country. As this is a conclusion drawn from a fallacious assumption, from first order logic, this statement is also a false one. One can observe that, author is inconsistent in his statements , initially he talked about country being autonomous and then went into another direction of national identity. Author could stick to one point and explain the same in more detail instead of expressing many possible effects of illegal immigrants.

In conclusion, Country has to strengthen its people ,economy, ethics to become autonomous.While stopping the illegal immigrants can make the people of the country feel more safer and work or move freely in the country, which in turn may lead to a better economy, but just stopping illegal immigrants can’t make a country autonomous. However, this author’s argument is not significantly persuasive to take strong measures to stop any illegal immigrants.