The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

It may be wise to question the familiar in order to understand the rationale behind it, but non-acceptance of familiar, irrespective of how valuable it is wouldn’t be a wise thing to do. This could be proved in context of life through wide variety of examples ranging from as large as Indian government to as specific as, Virat Kohli and AB Devillers – captains of India and South Africa international cricket team captains respectively.

Dr.B.R.Ambedkar while writing Indian constitution in 1950, made a reservation system accounting to the oppression of some groups of people by others before 1950. Reservations are made as part of the reparations to this oppression, which include SC (Scheduled castes), ST (Scheduled tribes, OBC(Other Backward Castes) and OC(Open Category). ST,SC being the most backward groups and OC being the thriving groups. This familiar system was still not rejected by present government, but questioned it, as what were the affects of this reform? They came to learn that some people from SC,ST,OBC became potent enough and hence are in no need of reservation. This lead to the change of tweak in the system, that is, a new criteria of income is made to avail the reservation facility. People coming under less than a particular income bracket can enjoy reservations. We can see from this that, for self-knowledge one don’t need to oppose the familiar, but could benefit deeply from questioning and getting the insights from the answers.

In addition to this, lets look at the individuals who rose to the occasion in their particular fields and become idols to the youth all over the world. Virat Kohli – Who showed precociousness in winning the Under-19 World cup for India as a captains, leading to a place in Indian senior team. He used to play the traditional cricket shots – cover drive, square cut picturesquely. He then, to his self-knowledge came to understand the importance of strength and added weight lifting to his fitness regime. This allowed him to get more power into the shots he plays and thrived even more and became the No.1 batsmen in the world. AB Devillers also comes in similar lines, who didn’t deny familiar and added his own shots to his armor to become a 360 degree player. From these examples we can see following familiar can only improve in one’s profession. Self-Knowledge is not related to the familiar in these phenomenons.

On contrary, let’s look at Jack ma - CEO of multi billion dollar company Alibaba. He questioned the familiar notion of people not trusting online payment. He then came to know the reason for the same and improved the security levels in online payments and became successful.This case as opposed to others examples, opposed the familiar and questioned in the process and made it right. In other terms one can say, he has set right the familiar with self-knowledge he gained from questioning the old familiar notion.

All in all, from the examples above one can’t blatantly disregard the familiar and gain self-knowledge. But, we can benefit from questioning the familiar as observed in the case of Indian constitution and Jack ma. In some particular scenarios one can benefit from just following the familiar and improve on top of it ,as we saw in the case of Virat Kohil and AB Devillers. Hence, self-knowledge has less to do with opposing the familiar, but more to do with questioning the familiar and gain from the insights.