The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

True ability of the artist lies in his/her ability to express his/her feelings in a aesthetic manner. But, if this is not reaching to large demographic in a cogent manner, the value of the art could never reach its actual potential.On,the other hand the art that is appreciable and understood by most groups of the society could exceed its actual potential.For example, music director A.R.Rahman, Justin bieber and Taylor swift are well received by most people.Actors like Morgan freeman,Brad pitt and Angelina Jolie are loved by most of the people.

Lets consider the case of an artist who is well aware of what his audience needs, like the modern rappers like Honey singh.The, songs he write may not have value at its face for many purists.But, he is able to satisfy his fans and hence became the best rapper in India. From this we can observe an artist who can reach to masses can be recognised of his work.

In a little contrast to above example lets take the example of A.R Rahman and Justin Bieber.These artists have more supporting fans than opposing ones. A.R.Rahman became first indian musical director to recieve several Oscar awards. Justin Bieber delivered the biggest hit "Baby" at a very young age. These people could be considered prodigies, as they had the knack of making pleasing music from a very young age.The important deduction from these people is, they are well received by people around the world.That is the main reason for their success.If you can observe, these artists are more famous and their work is having more recognition as opposed to Honey Singhs work. That is because these people reached to more people more convincingly than Honey Singh.

Lets consider two contrasting film directors in telugu film industry. They are, Rajamouli and Ram Gopal Verma.Raja mouli has a total of 9 films and all are very succesful in box office and in the public. But, Ram Gopal verma who is a senior to Rajamouli directed great film like 'Shiva', 'Gettanjali' at one point of the time, which changed the telugu film industry in a very positive way. But,he went in a completely new direction by directing some controversial films like 'Raktha charithra', which is a biopic of the then famous Chief minister,Senior NTR in Andhra Pradesh,India.From,this movie he was not well received by people and his career went downhill. Whereas his starting movie 'geetanjali' received nandi award(equivalent to oscar in India level).

From, the above considered examples we can see a normal artist pleasing a small group is moderately received as opposed to artist pleasing vast groups of people.Then, we saw example of person who went against masses and lost his plot all together. From,the depicted examples we can say it is artists responsibility to reach to masses in a cogent fashion to be succesful.