The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

It may sound right or one might have come across such statements as one should question or oppose the familiar.But, once we go deep and analyse this in numerous domains and situations we can see in many cases that, it is not completely correct. Lets take examples of as large as Indian government and as small or specific case as to individuals such as virat kohli, Ad Devillers.

Lets start with bigger domain, Indian government is still following the same constitution written by Dr.B.R.Ambedkar in 1950. This only had as positive impact on country such as, providing the opportunities for under developed groups of society by providing them with reservations. Lets analyse the case of reservations in India, the familiar notion of this is to provide anyone with reservation who belongs to particular category such as OBC,SC,ST. But with self-knowledge without rejecting the familiar found out the inticacies with providing the same reservations for everyone in same category and introduced a new criteria, that is annual income. People with less than particular income can only avail certain reservation facilities irrespective of their cast.

In addition to this lets consider individuals who rose the occasion in their particular fields and become idols to youth all over the world. Let's take Virat Kohli, who made his mark at very young age.He used to play traditional cricket shots such as cover drive,square cut picturesquely as they are supposed to be played. But to self-knowledge to came with his own fitness regimes that no one else traditionally did in their cricket carrier. He added weightlifting to his fitness regime, which allowed him to generate power into the shot more than ever. This only made him more perfect batsmen, still he didn't change the traditionally sucessfull shots above mentioned.Same is the case with AB Devillers, the south african international cricket team captain. The traditional rules of, keeping your head still while playing the shot and playing as close to your body are part of his armor, In addition to these he developed unorthodox shots which only he can play, such as putting away a perfect yorker over square leg. One can consider Ratan tata in similar lines, he believed in rules of traditional business such as, business should be based on ethics.Which made him only more succesfull.

On contrary there are people who went out of norms such as Mark Zuckerburg and Jack ma. who opposed the then traditional rules and invented facebook and alibaba which made them billionaires today. But these examples are very less and specific to some damoains.

In conclussion from the above examples in most cases one neddnot reject the familiar to become succesful or to develop his own knowledge.As w can see kohli and ABD it can onl;y im[prove u\you if you folloe familiar.