On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

The author claimed that by reducing the number rental mopeds the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians can be reduced. He based his claim on the similar enforcement by the neighboring island however he should have provided some more substantial evidences to bolster his claim.

He stated the population increase to 100000 during summer time he but did not make use of this data anywhere. He should have provided the log of the town council about the accidents during summer time and normal time. Based on this log we can get whether reducing the number of rental mopeds will cause any effect on the number of accidents or not.

He also claimed that by reducing the rented mopeds from 50 to 25 will attain 50% the annual reduction in the moped accidents and he based his claim on the last year’s data the neighboring island. First of all the data from the neighboring island is annual data, the data of the summer season should be calculated separately that will give the clear understanding of the accidents reduced during summer time by imposing the limits. The neighboring island on the other hand does not necessarily have same traffic and road conditions it could be worse and better then Balmer Island also the population increase during summer time could also be different.

Instead of the limiting the number of rented mopeds the town council should focus on more strict traffic rules this will reduce the number of accidents as well as beneficial for the economy. To validate his claim author should have provided the answers to the following questions.

i) Are the traffic and road conditions for both the island same?

ii) Are the amount of population increase is same for both the island during the summer time?

iii) If answer to both the above mentioned questions is yes then what is the reduction in the number of accidents during summer time not annual in the island of Seaville.

If answer to first two questions is affirmative and the number of accidents have also reduced in good amount during summer time, authors claim can be validated and the limit can enforced on moped rentals of Balmer Island.