"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that in order to make profits they should change their policies and diminish too old movies and offer or adopt people with new movies. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author of the argument contends that they should decrease expenses at movie galore store in order to increase profits and make the store profitable. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, there is no sufficient evidence to support if diminish expenses could resulted in high profit. One point that should be consider is that make profits depend on variety of items such as economic situation, number of costumers, release and offer excellent movies and so forth. What if the store lose its costumers after decrease expenses? Or maybe society face a terrible economic recession, which have deleterious effects on the store. It is also important to say that the author does not mention in what ways the expenses need to be decreased or to the extent the expenses should reduce. Perhaps increasing expenses and advertising make a better result who knows?

The author also points out that increase the price will run the store into a huge problem due to the fact that movie store is well-known because of its low price. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects. Due to the paucity of evidence, that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that being famous through low price could have bring negative impact in the long run. Indeed, there is possibility that low price does not guarantee making profits. Arguably, offering good movies with high price based on people's taste could be the best substitution owing to the fact that people will pay for their interests. Alongside that, what if the expenses of store rise significantly? In fact, being well-known through low price could not be good solution because of different expenses of movie store.

Finally, as set forth by the author the store should decline its working hours and reduce stocking DVDs released for more than five years. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if eliminate old DVDs and reduction of working hours could terminate into high profits. One point that should not go unnoticed is that decreasing working hours will disperse costumers and encourage them to go other movie stores. In this case, losing customers will not resulted in profits. Moreover, there are vast majorities of people who are interested in old movies even released for more than five years. Stocking and reducing these DVDs may influence incomes negatively.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.