"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

In a speech given to the School board about the change in the curriculum, it is stated that there should be a mandatory computer programming course for all the high school students since the future will be dominated by technology. The author has come to this conclusion based on the fact that students in order to lead a successful life, should learn programming as it will help in getting high paying jobs. However, before jumping into this conclusion, the author should provide some evidence to back up the conclusion.

First of all, there is no statistical data to prove that software engineers and data scientists are earning more than other people. In the IT industry, the competition for jobs will be very high and lucrative jobs require work experience like internships to be completed before getting a job as a full-time employee. There is no guarantee that if a student has completed a course on programming is going to get a job. Due to competition in the market, there will be instances where engineers who are ready to work for less pay also. If one of these above scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is flawed.

Secondly, not all students are good with math and logic, some are interested in studying literature, history, biology, and economics. There are high paying jobs available such as chartered accountant, jobs in medical fields, etc. in these sectors as well. If the above is true then the conclusion does not hold water.

Thirdly, the author claims that programming will be helpful for students as it used in all fields because all industries are becoming more technological. There is simply not enough evidence to back this statement, For instance, if we take up paper literature, programming has zero effect on this. So to conclude that programming will help is not proper.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide some more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to add computer programming course for high school students.