Because the future will be dominated by technology we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students If our students take these classes they ll all be able to get high paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives

From the excerpt from a speech given to the school board espoused that as the techonolgy is growing faster and the future will dominate by the technolgy so they are planning to make computer programming mandatory for all the students, the posits that it will help them to get a high paying programming job, and also help in other side of the profession too, however in my opinion the argument rests on the various logical fallacies and suffers from vaguely defined terms. In order to strengthen the argument some evidence need to evaluated.

At the very outset, the author has claimed that the future will be dominated by the techology, however the author did not provide any further clarification of the sentance, how does the author assured that the technology will be dominated the future? that is absent. Which is making this assumption vague. It may happen that in the future there will be no use of technology and people may shift to something different, or the technology may get failed to provide the dominance and people are getting way from the techonology, so without providing any further support of the claim, the claim does not hold water.

Secondly, the author has claimed that if the all the students get a computer science class they will end up getting high paying job, however their is no correlation that having a computer science class may get one a high paying job. It may happen that the high paying job only is being offered to the computer science specilized students, in which case the assumption the author make will be unwarranted.

Thirdly, the author has assumed that all the students are suitable for doing the computer scince course, now computer science course require a math background and it may happen that not every students are quite familiar with mathematics, and not everyone want to do the job in software industries, the correlation the author is drawing here does not provide any suffecient evidence which could actually justify the author claims, and this is making the argument vague.

In contrast, there is no doubt that computer science is a lucrative field and in future it may be the most dominated field. In future many technologies like machine learning, artificial intelligence may have a huge domination in the market, but teching all the student technology may not be benificial, this may happen that many students has different goals for their future, and many could not just understand it.

To conclude, technology is a great field no doubt and in future it may bring lots of changes and the way the author posits his claim does not validate his assumptions and in order to solidify his claim the author need to provide sufficient evidence which can bolster the authors claim otherwise the argument remained questionable.