The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well rounded and charitable members of society The proposed graduation requir

From the Deans newsletter it is mentioned that The university of Wabash is considering a community service requirement and espoused that it will ba a good oppertunity to give back to the society however, In my opinion the argument rests on many logical fallacies, which can greatly undermine the authors claim and prove the argument unwarrented.

At the very outset, the author is claiming that if the student will do the community service project it may help them to become a well rounded and charitable members of the society but there is no evidence provided that it is the case, as it may happen that the student will do that from the pressure and may not become charitable in future as that is the requirement of completion of the degree so they are just doing it.

Secondly, The author has claim that doing community project may help them to gain real world experience, but what is the proof that they will actually get some real world experience? It may happen that the student who is doing the community project is from the physice background and doing the community project he may only get the people skills but the physics is the subject which require enormous mathematical study so if that student is doing the comunity project he may be just waste his time, and it may happen that the time he will put in the community project may have could put on his research and can have some ground breaking discovery.

Thirdly, it is being mentioned that the comunity project is of 8 hours and it will be for the 9 months and unpaid, which may feel like a tough thing to do for most of the students, as if we see the scenerio of America, most the students has to pay for there tuition fees and if the are working somewhere which is unpaid that may result problematic, as the students whose are in undergrad and grad school probably many of the student even pays their own rent, and if it is being imposed on the student then it may happen that many of the student may not get the benifit by it.

There is no doubt that community projects are great thing, it may increase students people skills, and students may learn many things for it. However if a student is devoting his 9 month on something that is not paying him anything then it may bring some problems, and if the author may decress the time limit that may help the argument to bolster otherwise the argument seem unwarrented and the author claim is based on the unreasonable assumptions.