Claim Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience Reason People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you a

The speaker asserts that imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. In my view the speaker unfairly generalizes. As we exam different fields of inquiry, we shall see that in some area, especially in arts, imagination often have a more significant role than other characters such as experience. However, in some other fields, particularly in physics and math, scientific progress relies on the experience of those brilliant scientists. In still other fields, such as business and engineering, both imagination and experience are required for excellent achievements. Therefore, I believe that the view of the speaker is inaccurate.

An artist would need his or her talent of imagination to create distinguished artwork. In the process of generating artistic works, artists could not come to a great breakthrough without imagination beyond the worldly life. It is possible that abundant experience could be fundamental to drawing a picture or sculpturing. But if an artist could not imagine about art itself, even though he or she has abundant experience, this so-called artist is nothing more than a copier, would not have enough ability to create his or her own miracle. Only when a skilled artist has sufficient imagination, great works of art could be finished. Therefore, I believe in the art world, imagination is more valuable than experience.

However, on the contrary, in the natural science world of physics and math, experience would hold a more important status than imagination. Every scientific deduction must be fully based on careful observation and precise statistic data. A scientist with ample experiences in research, even though he or she is not very creative, could apply elaborate experiments, collect detailed experiment data, infer possible theories responsively and come to a reasonable conclusion eventually. Imagination could be helpful in scientific research especially when research meet its bottleneck, but a scientist who imagines a lot but has little experience, maybe carry on research with errors and irresponsible conclusions. In short, I take experience for a superordinate character of scientists compared with imagination.

In the fields of business and engineering, imagination and experience are both significant. Without imagination, one could not make difference; without experience, one could not transform his or her imagination into reality. Only those people whose imagination and imagination are both abundant would have possibilities to success in these fields.

In sum, in some fields such as art, imagination is a more valuable asset than experience, while in some other fields, experience is more important, or they are equally significant. Obviously people could benefit from both experience and experience as long as they enter into suitable fields. Therefore, people should take different attitudes toward these two traits when facing different situations.