Cetadone, a new therapy for the treatment of addiction to the illegal drug tarocaine, has been proven effective in a study by Regis Hospital in the western part of New Portsmouth. The study involved local tarocaine addicts who responded to a newspaper ad offering free treatment. Participants who received cetadone and counseling were 40% more likely to recover than were patients assigned to a control group and receiving only counseling. Conventional therapies have only a 20% recovery rate. Therefore, the best way to reduce deaths from tarocaine overdose throughout all of New Portsmouth would be to fund cetadone therapy for all tarocaine addicts.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what affects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The argument used above to conclude that the best method is to fund cetadone therapy for all tarocaine addicts throughout New Portsmouth needs to address three primary concerns before it can make a plausible conclusion.

First, 'is it really the best way?' and 'are all of the new Prosmouth tarocaine addicts represented by the sample?' should be answered. the passage mentions that this is 'the best way' without providing any evidence to support that any other method to reduce tarocine overdose induced deaths will be inferior to cetadone therapy. Furthermore it mentions 'all tarcaine addicts', again without providing enough evidence that the sample in the study was an apt representation of the general population of tarocaine addicts in New Portsmouth. Thereby, the over-generalization in both assumptions, that is the sample is a proper statistical representative of all the tarocaine addicts in new portsmouth as well as the assumption that cetadone therapy is the best way, if found to be false can negate the argument.

Second, the question 'did the patients come unbiased? and if they did not can there be any other explanations for the change?' should be answered. the sample consists of those addicts who responded to the ad, indicating that they were motivated to recovery even prior to the therapy. if it is generally known that patients receive counseling as a means of treatement for tarocaine addiction treatment, then in this case many varied cognitive processes but cetadone therapy, could have been the cause of better recovery rate. Consider for example, placebo effect, that is since the addicts expected an improvement with their addiction due to cetadone therapy, they got better because they assumed that they were getting better. it is very important to formulate a method to dispel all earlier biases in behavioural experiment for unbiased results. Thus, if the answers turn out to be contradictory, that the sample was not unbiased towards the therapy wil lead to abjuring the believes of the author.

Next question should be can the correlations here impeccably imply causation? the author assumes that correlation implies causation, that since the group with cetadone therapy showed improvement this implies that it was responsible for that improvement. there could have had been many other reasons like a change to routine due to the therapy which made it difficult to access the drug, or pressure from family and friends who expected improvement due to the new method. if the answer is found to be something other than cetadone therapy it would imply that the conclusion drawn by the author was wrong.

Taking the above three reasons into consideration, I believe, that the implicit assumptions made by the author in concluding that catedone therapy is the best way and that it should be funded for all the tarocaine addicts in new Prothmouth, should be questioned before taking the leap of faith and making the above conclusion.