technology is deteriorating humans ability to think

From the dawn of the industrial revolution everything has evolved at an unprecedented speed, from the days of steam engine we have come to the day when even the light bulbs are smart. And along with this boost in science and technology has come a crippling dependency on technology. Despite the pressing need of technology ranging complicated tasks like building a space ship to everyday tasks like driving to work, the ability of humans to think has not detoriated. Following are three primamry reasons for the same.

As technology advanced humans freed themselves from labour intensive jobs which were extremely time consuming. This transition meant that man now could afford to invest time in art and studies are than simply surviving the pre industrial revolution era. It implied that they could now invest themselves on improving technology furthermore. Thus not only advancement of technology meant that improved lifestyle, it also menat that man was expanding his thinking to invent a new world. If not increase it would have required persistance in thinking ability, thereby dependence on technology would by no means imply deteriotaion in thinking ability.

Further builing on the argument, since man had time and aptitute to invest s/he would have had conceived of new fields to explore and study. This would lead to mutifacet evolution of man's cogntive ability to think. Thereby, different cognitive process might emerge with the advancement of technology which were earlier not required, changing the defination of 'thinking'. For example in historic Japan women were taught soft skills like flower arrangement and hospitality. It was considered imperative for them to have basic knowledge, this meant that their visio-spatial sketchpad would be much more developed than present day women who are much more focused on, say, typing. With advancement of technology skillset has alsi changed over the years and thus what was considered as the 'ability to think' has also evolved so simply implying that ability to think has deteriotated due to dependence on technology would be incorrect.

With technological advancement also came innovation and not only to invent these but also to use them thinking outside the box becomes important at times. Thus in a way technology have even imporved our ability to think. Tecnology has indeed made us more dependent even for simple tasks like searching for a bakery or looking up definations of words and surely we no longer need memorise phone numbers, but it has by no means deterioted our ability to think.