In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">The argument that the passage make is that government should budget of riverside recreational facilities since the residents' favorite recreational activity is water sports if the Mason River </span>is cleaned<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">.

The author assumes that </span>the fact that<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> residents were rarely using Mason River riverside recreational facilities and the fact that they complained about the river water quality and smell are effect and cause </span>respectively<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">. However, without any evidence to support this assumption, this can become a classic textbook example of 'correlation implying causation' mistake. To rephrase, just because the two events </span>occured<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> simultaneously need not mean that they are even related to each other, for instance it could be the case that the part of the Mason River flowing through the city might be too dangerous or completely unsuited for riverside recreational activities and so is not used for recreational activities. The argument thus is deeply </span>impacted<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> by this assumption and if it </span>is found to be<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> wrong and thus low participation in riverside recreational activities is not due to bad condition of the river but some other </span>factor<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> </span>then<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> cleaning the river will not increase use of the facilities, though it might be very beneficial for the residents health.

The argument mentions that the city government should increase investment in riverside recreational facilities. The underlying assumption is that there is not enough investment already done on it and that the </span>additional<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> budget will increase residents' participation in riverside recreational activities. It could be the case that if more investments </span>are made<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> to change the basic infrastructure and it is not up to the residents' tastes then </span>the use of<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> the facilities might go even further down. Thus the assumption that increase in budget will increase use of facilities can inversely affect the intended purpose if found </span>to be<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> wrong.

The argument justifies increasing budget for the facilities based </span>soley<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> on the prediction that use of river for water sports is sure to happen. If due to some unpredictable reason such as drastic weather or sudden economic downfall the facilities </span>are compromised<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> then the increased investment would be wasted. The </span>large scale<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> decisions of the level of city cannot be made by assuming that one of the predictions involved is sure </span>to be<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> true since there is little evidence ex ante to </span>determine<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> </span>the valuation of<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> expected loss and gain. The assumption that the use is sure to increase </span>will be unwarranted<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> if some </span>factor<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> leads to stagnation or decrease of the use of the riverside recreational facilities.

Thereby, if any one of the implicit assumptions </span>is shown<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> </span>to be<span style="font-size: 19.36px;"> unwarranted then the complete argument would crumble.</span><br>