The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument says that due to the government's nutritional recommendations and fluctuation in sales of some products, the citizens of Forsythe have adopted a more healthful lifestyle. Stated in this way, the argument fails to take many pivotal factors into consideration for which no transparent evidence is provided. Therefore, the argument remains fallacious and open for debate. Nevertheless, in order to make it more compelling, the following three implications must be provided.

First of all, the author assumed that the survey conducted to determine how the citizens achieve a healthier lifestyle is tenable. But, it fails to answer several questions that how many people participated in that survey, what type of questions were asked, or whether the participants even were honest in the survey. So, without knowing the answers to these questions, it is hard to accept the conclusion the author made.

Furthermore, another assumption is that the nutritional recommendation given by the government is actually the cause of their healthful living. However, the author did not mention what the suggestions were. Moreover, why did not they follow these suggestions ten years ago? What really happened that they started these instructions now? No clear explanations are provided.

Finally, an increase in sales of products containing kiran and a decline in sales of sulia is the indication of the healthy lifestyle Forsythe people are living now. Reduction of cholesterol, as people are eager to purchase food products with kiran, is a sign of healthy life; a healthy lifestyle is not only dependent upon the reduction of cholesterol, but on other factors: mental health, less depression, and less stress. In addition, the author fails to mention why the healthiest citizens refuse to sulia. The healthiest people ignore buying sulia does not indicate that this food is detrimental to health. Perhaps, sulia is more expensive, that is why people really do not feel interested to purchase it. If this is the case, the conclusion is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is to offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), it will be possible to fully assess and bolster the conclusion.