The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the health magazine, the author claims that the residents of Forsythe are living a healthier lifestyle than before. He has mentioned about a survey that shows people are consuming foods more closely to the government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago, in order to support his claim. He has also presented a fact about the increasing sales of food products containing kiran as well as the decreasing sales of sulia. However, his assumptions based on these facts are dubious and require further study and evidence.

First of all, there is no iota of information about the type of survey conducted. For instance, they might have surveyed random 20 people in the street and drawn the conclusion. Also, how do they know that the survey was trust worthy? Do people really remember their eating habits 10 years ago? There is a possibility that people might have not responded truly to the questions or probably the questionnaire was not appropriate enough to conclude about the lifestyle of people.

Secondly, the author assumes that the reason behind the increase in sales of kiran is its health benefit. However, the reason may be its taste. Besides taste, the increase in population may also be the reason for increasing sales of kiran and the average amount of kiran a person consumes might be almost constant. Thus, the author should also show the growth rate of Forsythe to evaluate whether people really consume more kiran than before. Likewise, the decrease in sales of sulia and only a few healthy people eating it also might be due to its taste rather than it being unhealthy.

Most importantly, does healthy lifestyle only mean healthy eating habits? What about the other aspects such as physical health, mental health and so on which are equally important to determine the health of a person? The author failed to conduct requisite research on all these aspects. To have a better understanding about the lifestyle of the people, the author must focus on all the aspects that affects them and not only the eating habits.

The argument is overall contentious. The author should not simply assume that the residents of Forsythe have adopted a healthful lifestyle. Further study need to be done and necessary evidences must be provided to bolster the argument. More details regarding the survey will be helpful. In addition to this, data about the growth rate of Forsythe and the actual consumption of kiran per people should be mentioned. Author should also investigate properly about the actual reason for the decrease in sales of sulia. He also should conduct a research on other aspects of healthy lifestyle.