The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The health and lifestyle of people is inevitably one of the most important aspects of living. Governments, organizations and people must always strive towards making a better, healthier future. The given article makes a lot of generalized assumptions. The argument is lacking in sufficient evidence to support its conclusions. It is important to examine each argument in detail before reaching a final conclusion.

To begin with, the author indicates that the citizens' eating habits, which conform more closely to governmental recommendations, is a direct cause for their salubrious lifestyles. If this is to be taken as true, we need more information. First of all, the argument incites in readers doubts regarding the scope and validity of the survey. Is the survey taken across a diverse set of people? How many people have participated in it? The data answering the above questions will make things a bit more lucid. If the survey was only taken in a very specific group, then it cannot be trusted. It essentially weakens the argument. On the other hand, if the survey was indeed conducted with the entire population in mind, and all other variables are agreeable, then, perhaps, one could agree with the premise and the conclusion thereof.

Building up on the implication that the increase in the sales of the food product kiran is directly related to the more healthy lifestyle of the citizens of Forsythe, we can come up with the following questions. Is the scientific study proving that kiran reduces cholestrol legitimate? Also, are the sales of this product only restricted to Forsythe? How much of it is exported? If the study is proven to be legitimate, then the argument could be strengthened. If the product is being exported more, then it weakens the argument since the citizens of Forsythe are not the primary consumers of Kiran, which means that the increase in its sales cannot account for the increase in health of the citizens.

Moving on to the final assumption, the author has stated that reduction in sales of sulia has led to the increased wellbeing of the citizens of Forsythe. More evidence is needed to support the assumption that sulia is pernicious to the health of an individual. Just because less number of healthy people consume this item, does not mean it is noxious. Maybe it has no effect on overall health. If more evidence related to the effect of sulia on health of people comes into light, then the conclusion can be derived. Are there any other baleful items consumed by the people? Is the sales of sulia unrelated to the lifestyle of people? If the answer is yes for any of the above, it can seriously weaken the argument.

Thus, the argument is rife with holes and assumptions. It is important to find evidences based on the above mentioned points, which can strengthen or weaken the argument. Only after a careful analysis can we reach a proper conclusion.