The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Question about the future business development and sales in certain areas is of high importance. What should the companies try to find out before they decide to open the store in Salem?

In order to analyze this argument critically and be able to predict the results of the sails in recently developed suburb of Salem, it would be necessary to focus on certain aspects of the habitants in Salem and then consider, if one, another, or both cities could open the story in the suburb. The question would be, what kind of technique would be appropriate to find out information about the popuplation. We could employ questionaries and send them by post to each house, or send the questionaries by mail to each person lining in Salem. Another technique would be to call to the house directly, or have some young workers to pass the houses in the neigborhood and ask the questions directly. To be able to find out, who lives in the neighborhood and therefore, which store would have more potential to be successful, we can employ all the techniques and have representative description of the neighborhood. Call the houses with central phone, send mail to the houses with internet connection and send the workers to the houses without both of them.

The question which should be answered can be descriptive, if people living in the neighborhood are of certaing age cohorts, maybe gender of the respondents, maritimal status and so on. In case of mostly young people living in the neighborhood, and they are mostly single, it would be necessary to find out, which of the department store rely in this specific group. Names, with its fancy fashion, would be very popular between young and single part of the population, and would indeed try to open the store in the neighborhood. However, Roscoe, could be more popular for female part of the population, and therefore, they could consider an expansion to the neighborhood. The way of find out, which store is the one which would expect more sales in Salem, should try to connect their contemporary sales statistics with the one from the questionary.

On the other hand, stores could also use the already known information about the suburb. The suburb is growing 50% in the last three years. What is the reason for this expansion ? City of Pheonix is currently growing rapidly, because families of San Francisco could not afford and maintain decent household in the Bay Area. They therefore, tend to more to the city of Pheonix instead. City of Detroit, enjoyed an expansion until the early 50s. The reason was, that substantial population of the city was working in car factories. Because of that, the different reason of expansion indicates different cohort of people who are moving to the suburt, young families looking for affordable house, or middleage predominantly male population, who decided to move in order to work in one of tho close factories. Lastly, the information about the income would be benificial for this analysis as well. Comparing the median income of the country, would give us solid understanding of the purchasing power of the population of Salem. This could be compared with the average salary of the customers Namen and Roscoe already have and subsequently finding out the relevand conclusion in order to predict their future sales.

In order to be able to find out which store, or both, should open a store in Salem, they need to find many information about the population through questionary and use the information already in hand and subsequently connect it to the information about their currect customers.