Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists’ lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year’s addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic.

In the editorial from the local newspaper, it is stated that opponents of the motorists' lobby's plan to add another lane to Blue Highway have instead advocated that a bicycle lane be constructed in order to alleviate the highway's traffic issues. The opponents have come to this conclusion based on the issues faced by Green Highway last year as well as the keen interest in bicycling of the area's local residents. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be

answered.

First of all, are Green Highway and Blue Highway roughly comparable? In other words, can circumstances from one highway be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other? It is possible that Green Highway and Blue Highway are not similar at all - perhaps Green Highway runs through residential neighborhoods, whereas Blue Highway is located mostly in rural, unpopulated sections of the city. Further, there is a possibility that the quality of the highways is markedly different,

with Green Highway's roads falling apart and Blue Highway's in pristine condition. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do a majority of the area residents interested in biking live within biking distance of their places of employment? The opponents in the argument prematurely assume that many of the residents in the town will bike to work in the morning rather than drive their cars. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps the average distance from home to work is over 15 miles, and that's why many of the residents are essentially obligated to take the highway - even if they don't want to. In an ideal

world, they might choose to bike to work, but if the reality is such that they cannot do so due to the logistics of their situations, then only one form of transportation (the car via the highway) is possible. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, do local residents who enjoy bicycling as a hobby opt for biking as their choice of commute to work on a daily basis? It is possible that the local residents are avid bikers who prefer bicycling only during the weekends and maybe do not actually consider it for commuting to work. The idea of biking to work may not be as lucrative as the opponents assume, primarily if the work location is situated far from the residential areas or if weather conditions are not tolerable such as hot summers or monsoons. If the above scenarios hold ground, then the argument is quite debilitated.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully

evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to add a bike lane to Blue Highway.