Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, company X claims that its new policy of less work day with longer working hour will help increase its profits. To bolster this statement, company X points out that this policy not only benefits the company by shutting down the office on Friday but also benefits employees by reducing their commuting time. However, this argument is not convincing enough since it falsely based on several assumptions without proper justification.

First of all, by indicating that it is beneficial for the company to shut down the office on Friday, the company implies that this change will only reduce its operating expenses but not cause any harmful consequences. Yet, no evidence is stated in the argument to prove this assumption. In fact, this may not be the case. It is possible that customers will be disgruntled because of not having customers service on Fridays.

In addition, by claiming that the policy will cheer up employee morale, the company unfairly assumes that all the employees prefer longer work hour than one more work day. Yet perhaps some employees who have children may wish to get off work earlier in order to pick their kids up from school. Or it is also possible that 10 hours off work is way too exhausted, and some employees may want to have rest and continue to work on the next day. Unless the company conduct some survey or poll, we can not know if employees really happily embrace this new policy.

To sum up, despite company X’s new policy seems appealing, the credibility of its argument is not well established. While it may ultimately be the case that this policy turns out working well and brings noticeable profits for the company, we can not concludes this from the argument as it stands now.