Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new,Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The stated company wants a 4-day workweek for its employees rather than 5-day workweek. The company states the reason for doing so is that it will increase the company profits and boost employee’s morale by reducing the commute time. However before taking this decision there are few unstated assumptions that the company should look into before reducing the workweek.

The company’s policy want to cut off friday from its workweek. One of the reasons mentioned by the company is that it will increase profits of the company.But what if there is some urgent work on Friday? What if some international client visiting the company had a flight delay so had to come on Friday? If this happens then there will be no one in the company to address them on Friday. Sometimes there is an urgency of work and the client wants the comapany to finish the work till the end of week but since the company has less days to work upon the client’s task the client may cancel the deal with the company .Although the company’s policy increases each day work hours but certain work cannot be done until they do not get approval from a corresponding company with whom they are working.Suppose the approval gets delayed and the the approval just comes one day before and if that day is Thursday then the employees need to be present in the company on Friday to do further work after approval. So if any of the above scenarios take place then it will result in losses for the company.

The company states that reducing workweek will boost employees morale since they have to travel less.What if there is a tiny percentage of employees who stay away from the office? What if most of the employees live in the vicinity of the company and don’t have travel issues .If this is the case then certainly travelling wouldn’t be a problem for the employees. Then employees morale might not get affected by the commute time.

The company states that employees morale will get boosted due to reduced work week. What if there are certain government regulations that any company cannot make employees work for more 8-9 hours? If this is true then the company’s new policy would be illegal because extra working hours would be a defiance of the government’s labour code. What if the employees are more inclined towards working 8 hours rather than 10 hours ? What if the employees want more work life balance although having three off days. It has also been proved that working according to your capacity can produce great results.

So the company needs to address the unstated assumptions mentioned above and do more research before increasing the work week.