Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours

per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although

the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting

down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and

from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the

implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Company X claims that switching to 4-day workweek will help to increase both profits and employee morale. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidences. To support the claim, Company X reasons that profits can be increased by shutting down offices on Fridays and employee morale can be boosted by reducing commuting time to and from work each week. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the Company X's conclusion. Hence, the argument seems incomplete or unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the company assumes that commuting time of work each week will boost employee morale but increasing work hours from 8 hours per day to 10 hours per day will have no effect on employee. Does working for 10 hours decrease the employee morale? Working for 10 hours can reduce employee efficacy and eventually lead to decrease in morale. This is a mere assumption made without much solid ground. The argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly stated that provisions like breaks and refreshments are provided to the employee to improve productivity.

The argument also further claims that profits can be increased by shutting down offices on Fridays. Does the company ever field customers inquiries or have to provide support for its products and services? If so, customers will be unhappy if they cannot reach the company on Fridays. Does the company receive deliveries of any kind or have to interact with vendors or suppliers in any way? In such case, Friday closures could impact the company's efficiency, which could in turn impact revenue, expenses and morale. If the argument had provided evidence that it does not have to field customers or receive deliveries, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the company believes that the profits will increase because the company will reduce expenses associated with keeping the office open on Fridays. The company assumes that it will make the same amount of revenue in 4 days that it typically makes in 5. However, the company provides no evidence about the amount of work done in 4 days. For instance, if the employee completes less work in 4 days than 5, then the company’s profits will decrease even after the office is kept closed on Fridays. Without convincing evidences to these assumptions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the company are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the company's claim is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the company must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of reliable survey of profits and employee morale. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about how switching to 4-day workweek will help to increase both profits and employee morale.