Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours
per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although
the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting
down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from
work each week.
Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.
Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are
for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted
The above arugment states that a company X has changed it's working schedule from a 5 day routinue to 4 days,that is form Monday to Thursday and leaving Friday as a holiday.
The working hours,which were generally 8 hours a day are increased by 2 hours,inorder to compensate Friday.The company claims that this would enhance it's profit and even encourage
their employees to work more entusiastically.It beleives that this new policy would help the empolyees by reducing the time to travel for the office.
The Company claims that working 4 days a week for 10 hours a day is more profitable than working 5 days a week for 10 hours a day.But there is no solid evidence that it is that profitable.
Working contiuously 8 hours a day is already stressful for the employees and now the extra two hours will have added pressure on them.The argument doesn't mention the opinion of their employees
,if they are willing to work for 10 hours a day.End of the say it is the employees who bring profit to the company.This new schedule may become more stressful for the employees.
Moreover,Company X claims that this policy will help them to increase the profits by shutting down the offices on Friday.This scentence doesn't make any sense,How can a company make profits
if it's prduction or services stop working? A company will make profits only when their services run properly.There is no evidence to prove that shutting of offices would bring profits.
This claim made by the company X is completely illogical.
The primary and most important thing for the company to run are healthy employees.If the employees are well and fit ,then the employee can work up to his full potential which would lead to
profits.As we know already many employees are facing many health issues due to the stress.Does increasing workhours and giving an extra day off would help the health and mental condition of
the employee? Does this increase or decrease stress and pressure on the employee?
The bottom line is that, it is notsure weather the above change would bring any profits to the company.But the above argument have some serious flaws which are to be addressed.There are no
perfect evidances to prove the claims made by the commpany above.Therefore the arugument is not strogn enough to prove that this change would increase the profits of the company.