The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The council of Maple Country considers preventing the development of existing farmland due to the the county's overdevelopment. Opponents of the proposal are worried that this action might increase the house prices, on the other hand, proponents think that this may not affect the house prices since Chestnut County followed a similar proposal and the its housing prices have increased only modestly since. The council itself predicts that the proposal will increase the prices. The suggested predictions should be looked further into since there have some logical issues, especially when the reader doesn't have any idea about the other mentioned counties, including Maple County.

As the readers, we need more information about the Maple County. We are not sure if the farmland is the only place that the county can expand towards. What if the existing farmland is not suitable for construction? Furthermore, if the main source of income is farming in Maple County, wouldn't destroying the farmland means driving the current population out of the area. If so many people leave, depending how crucial the farming is in the area, county might soon lose a big portion of its population hence no increase in house prices or reduction in prices.

One of the reasons that opponents presented is the case of Pine County, which followed a similar action that resulted in increased house prices. With the information presented, it is not possible to draw similarities between Maple and Pine County, especially when one considers a span of fifteen years. A lot of things might change during that time span. What if the Pine County created many more jobs or brought new industries into the area? If these are high-end jobs, that might explain some of the surge in house prices. Some of these questions should be taken into consideration when drawing conclusions based on Pine County.

On the other hand, proponents of the proposal used a similar logic and used Chestnut County as an example. There are also existing issues with this example. Since the house prices have increased only modestly in Chestnut County, one might question the economy of the area. If the county is losing many of its jobs, hence its population, to other areas, maybe to Pine County since the house prices in that county has been increasing, this might shed some light on the modest price increase in Chestnut County. Also, geographically Chestnut County may simply have a vast area to expand for residential housing purposes. We don't have much information about the geographical features of that county.

As is, it is hard to follow the logic of the Maple County and some of the questions or issues presented above should be looked into. It is very hard to reach to a conclusion based on other counties, simply because lack of thorough information and analysis. The council of Maple County should debate the proposed measure even further to make it a more sound proposal.