The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

As stated in the argument that the council of Maple County is concerned about the county’s becoming overdeveloped, and debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. However, there are major splits in this line of reasoning.

Firstly, the council has not provided any data for it being overdeveloped, there is no evidence that can prove that county’s becoming overdeveloped. The council is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development but the council has not taken into account to what extent will it prevent the development? Is the proposed measure enough to prevent the development? The argument states that council is concerned with restriction by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the pricing, but there is no statistics of previous prices of housing and by how much percent can the increment be observed. That is, there is no data to define “increment” in housing.

Secondly, proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago but it did not mention the terms and conditions of that measure completely. It says the housing prices increased only modestly but there is no figure provided to support the Chestnut County measure. There can be a difference in population of Maple and Chestnut County, there may be differences in the rate of developing of both the county. The proponents did not take into account any of these factors before supporting the measure.

Thirdly, opponents of the measure state that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than double. Opponents did not take into account the factors that can compare Maple and Pine county. Nothing has been mentioned regarding the purpose of restricting the development in Pine county. There is a high possibility that the purpose of Maple and Pine county does not match for restricting development of residential housing. No figure is provided to show the significant increase in the prices.

In summary, the given argument falls short in many aspects. The proponents and opponents have not considered the relevant factors for supporting and denying respectively the proposal to restrict the development. If they would have considered some facts and figures of the other two county, they could have drawn a better conclusion. Additionally, the conclusion can also not be drawn just by considering the examples of two county. They should have referred more county in order to deduce a conclusion. Most importantly, whatever the two counties have done, they have done 10 years and 15 years ago. Within a large span of 10 to 15 years, the world changed a lot and the factors may not remain the same for any 2 counties. The predictions made by Maple council that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices is unconvincing because of the flaws mentioned above. Hence, the council’s argument remains flawed.