Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that 15 years ago, a procedure was implemented to evaluate the teaching effectiveness and in response to it, teachers started assigning higher grades to students. Employers observed the rise in grades was significant and they deduce that this may not be the student real achievement, and this resulted into students did not get good jobs and they were not successful as job graduates. However, there are many splits in this line of reasoning.

Firstly, there is no evidence to show that the evaluation procedure was implemented. It is not evident that how many students did take the evaluation procedure seriously? An if this was implemented so was it effective? Did the university really come to know about how efficient their teachers are? The argument does not provide any explanations to the above questions clearly.

Secondly, it has mentioned that teachers started assigning higher grades but there is no figure provided to check that how higher did the teachers assign grades? Was the increment in grades significant? It is not evident that how many students got higher grades. There was an overall student grades average in the Omega University have risen by 30 percent, but no figure is provided to support that 30 percent increment was compared to previous year or any other year. Apparently, how many professors did assign higher grades is also not mentioned.

Thirdly, the argument states that employers look at the dramatic rise in grades and inferred that this may not reflect student accurate achievement but no figure is provided to prove that how many employers believe this? It is also not evident that hoe many students were not successful at getting jobs. No statistics is provided to support that Alpha university students were successful at getting good jobs. No proof is given to prove how many students of Alpha university got good jobs. Nothing is mentioned regarding recruiters in both the universities are same or not. In addition, it is also not evident that was higher grades the only reason for the students of not getting good jobs.

Moreover, the university decides to terminate the evaluation procedure but did not consider all the apposite reasons behind students are not getting good jobs. It is not evident that terminating the evaluation procedure would lead to students getting good jobs. No figure is provided to support that after terminating the procedure, teachers will not assign higher grades and their efficiency remains intact. It is not evident that students grades will reflect their accurate achievement. No proof to show that employers will start believing again at the students achievement.

In summary, the university did not take into account all the factors possible before terminating the evaluation procedure. The university does not provide any proof to their decisions. If they would have considered all the facts and figures, they could have extrapolated appropriately the reasons behind their students not getting good jobs. The argument should have provided more statistics to bolster their point. Hence, the conclusion to terminate evaluation procedure is unconvincing and thus the argument remains flawed.